Ugly Songkran

Songkran Festival, also known as Thai New Year, is famed for the water-splashing activity, annually attracting load of tourists from all over the globe to visit the Land of Smile. Thai New Year Days typically fall on 13 14 and 15 of April each year. People usually splash water each other to lessen the heat during summer. The trowing of water is not, however, the major activity of the celebration. Songkran is traditionally a time to visit and pay respects to elders, including family members, friends, neighbors, and monks.

Regarding Bangkok, the most famous spot to enjoy the festival seems to be Kao San Road, but the Silom Road is also becoming more popular thanks to its prime location.

I haven’t went out to join them for a few years. Perhaps, I think the Songkran tradition become more and more deteriorated. [You can close this window right away unless you want to acknowledge the dark side of the beautiful culture.]More teen gangsters emerged, and they were everywhere during the festival. Don’t know where the hell they cam from. They were mad, and tended to throw water to almost everyone with no care. I was very excited while I sat on the bus. I was safe thanks to the closed windows, but I felt sorry for those who sat near the opened windows. (Wondered why they didn’t just close.) Yes, they were wet. Besides, I noticed every spots that played Songkran would have bottles of alcohol. They played music aloud, danced, and some showed the inappropriate manners. It didn’t look smart after all!

The worst thing can’t be anything but the violent quarrel in Silom. Songkran in Silom in the old days were glorious, but it has been dominated by teen gangsters recently. I heard there were so many quarrels took place in Silom area, and they even fired the gun! I can’t believe such an incident would occur in the business zone in Bangkok.

Players should have better common sense, knowing what right or wrong is. I’m not in the position to ask them to comply with my request. At least, I wish I would see the better Songkran next year. And lastly, Happy (Thai) New Year.

Leave a Reply

